WhatsApp will introduce a new forbidden function

A new feature will appear in the WhatsApp messenger. Now the user can not be added to the group chat without his permission, which, presumably, will reduce the amount of spam and misinformation on the platform. Earlier it became known that a dangerous vulnerability was discovered in WhatsApp, due to which attackers could read even deleted messages.

The choice of interlocutors

WhatsApp is developing a new group chat feature that will allow users to decide for themselves which groups they would like to join, reports Business Today portal.

Currently, any user can be added to a group chat. This can occur several times even after deletion until the group administrator is blocked. The implemented function is designed to help the user decide for himself who exactly he wants to communicate with.

New features will appear in the settings of the messenger for everyone who uses WhatsApp. The user will be able to choose who is allowed to invite him into chats – to all users, only friends from the contact list, or to anyone.

Thus, in the first case, there will be no restrictions on the user’s invitations to the groups. In the second case, he will receive a notification each time he receives an invitation from a person outside his contact list. And finally, in the third case, the user will constantly receive warnings when any person tries to add him to the group chat.

It is reported that the invite to the group is valid for 72 hours, after which it automatically expires.

This function is still under development, so the date of its implementation is still unknown. It will be able to use both users of the Android operating system, and iOS.

WhatsApp was acquired by Facebook in 2014 and has become an integral part of its ecosystem. Last year, Facebook CEO Mark Zuckerberg forced the founding fathers of WhatsApp to leave, thus appropriating the messenger itself.

Earlier, the British Parliament issued a report in which sharply criticized the activities of Facebook. The report presented by the parliamentarians states that Facebook is unable to cope with its duties, and its management is called “digital gangsters”.

In addition, according to the British authorities, the social network violated the law on confidentiality, as well as allegedly deliberately misleading the British authorities on the issue of the alleged “interference” of Russia in the internal affairs of the country.

Dangerous correspondence

In January, it became aware of the dangerous vulnerability of WhatsApp – thanks to it, users of Android, iPhone and Windows Phone could read even messages that were previously deleted.

The fact is that the messenger has a function that allows the user to promptly delete messages, for example, sent by mistake within an hour.

Thus, the sender is usually confident that no one will ever read a remote message.

As it turned out, there is still a way to find out what was in those non-existent messages due to the backup function. If the interlocutor has deleted the message, and the recipient needs to read it, then you can take advantage of the application’s vulnerability and delete WhatsApp from your phone.

After that, you need to re-install the messenger on the device. The system will automatically restore all chats via backup, including deleted messages, which will again be visible to all participants in the conversation.

The fact is that such messages disappear from the chat, but are still stored on the gadget itself. When an application is reinstalled, it automatically ceases to consider them remote. In addition, according to foreign press reports, messages missing from the chat can still be read using the notification system on Android. This will require third-party applications to intercept such alerts.

The publication notes that this vulnerability is temporary, as the WhatsApp tech support promised to release a patch soon that would fix this bug.

Fakie not pass

At the end of January, news appeared that WhatsApp introduced new message transfer rules – now the user can redirect the received news no more than five times. This rule was introduced to combat the spread of fake information on the platform.

If earlier the same news could be redirected up to 20 times, now this limit is only five times.

“This will help WhatsApp users to focus on private communication with loved ones. We will continue to receive feedback from users about their experience, and, over time, we will present new ways to combat viral content, ”said company vice president Victoria Grand,speaking at the WhatsApp event in Jakarta.

The established limit will reduce the number of users who can receive the same message to 1,280 people since the maximum capacity of one WhatsApp chat is 256 users. Before the introduction of the new rules, the largest number of recipients reached 5,120 people.

According to the management of the messenger, as part of testing, new restrictions have led to a 25% reduction in forwarded messages to WhatsApp.